The name of Ecuador comes from the Equator; which divides it unevenly, putting most of the country in the Southern hemisphere. It may be the smallest Andean Country; but it has four distinct and contrasting regions. The Coast, or coastal plain, where enough bananas grow to make it the world’s largest exporter of fruit. The Sierra or highlands of the Andes, offers productive agricultural land. The Oil of the East; jungles east of the Andes, enriches the economy. The Galapagos Islands; volcanic islands, 960 kilometers west of Ecuador, encouraging their tourism income with their unique reptiles, birds and plants.

Industry: Oil, food processing, textiles, metalworking
Agriculture: Bananas, coffee, cocoa, rice; won; raft; fish 
Exports: oil, banana, shrimp, coffee, cocoa


Its diversity of landscapes includes the Amazon rainforest, Andean highlands and the rich wildlife in the Galapagos Islands. In the foothills of the Andes at an
altitude of 2,850, Quito, the capital, is known for its Spanish colonial center, its 17th-century palaces and churches, including the ornate Compañía de Jesús cathedral.


Population: 15.74 million (2013) of the World Bank 
Capital: Quito; 1,451,000 
Area: 283,560 square kilometers (109,483 square miles)
Language: Spanish, Quechua
Religion: Catholic 
Life expectancy: 71 
GDP per capita: $ 3.200 
Literacy porcentage: 93 
Currency: US Dollar
Population: 15.74 million (2013) World Bank
Country code : 593 
President:  Lenin V. Moreno Garcés

Volcán Chimborazo

Volcán Cotopaxi

Amazonía Ecuatoriana